Skip to content

Caught in a Courtesy Circle

December 29, 2008

It’s like a logic loop, but less logical.

In Commentary! The Musical on the Dr. Horrible DVD, Joss Whedon sounds like he does not like being asked about the process of creation, the What Did You Mean By That questions. Now I want to write about the first half of Buffy Season 8, but not if writing about it causes the source of that splendid subject pain or discomfort or itchiness. And so I want to ask, with regard to this song, What Did You Mean By That?

To make things worse and better, Joss actually used one of my phrases (“J-Mo,” my lame-o mediaism for co-Horribles Jed & Maurissa) in the song, which could be an indication (a) I’m a specific example of the problem, (b) I’m a specific exception to the problem, or (c) I came up with a convenient way to skirt Maurissa’s excessive syllabage, not to mention her notorious unrhymeliness.

And I can’t ask! OK, I actually did, on Twitter, but then I took it back provisionally if that kind of question was specifically the kind of question Joss hates answering.

3 Comments
  1. jaynelovesvera permalink*
    December 29, 2008 3:42 pm

    I think you shouldn’t worry what he thinks since he’s said in the past he invites the scholarly dissection of his work. And you, kind sir, are a scholar, though infinitely more entertaining than most.

    And I need to read your interpretations cos I’d never think of them by my own lame self.

  2. jaynelovesvera permalink*
    December 29, 2008 3:44 pm

    If Joss doesn’t like being asked about the process of creation, think how God feels with angry atheists objecting to his every move.

  3. pointy07 permalink*
    December 30, 2008 9:57 pm

    I think other stuff pisses God off a lot more. But your point about analyzing the Whedonworks is well and eagerly taken. If I discover a pattern, and draw it to the attention of the ‘verses, then I have done all a service. I tell myself. And hope God doesn’t see this as me rationalizing.

Comments are closed.

